New Shanghai, Chatswood

_1420013Dumplings are one of my favourite sort of comfort food. A suggestion to dine at the long standing Shanghai restuarant was enough to spark my cravings for their juicy shao long baos.

The restuarant holds a traditional yet modern look with red ornaments and wooden tables against dark walls. Seating was generously spaced throughout the restuarant for comfortable and private dining.

_1420031_1420029
_1420001

The waitress serving us was very friendly and attentive and allowed us to order half plates of dumplings of our choice. Between the two of us dining, this was much appreciated as it meant we could try a larger variety.

For our dumpling dishes, we chose shao long bao, pan fried pork dumplings and prawn wontons. _1420015My partner and I really enjoyed the shao long baos. It was exactly how I expected it to be having had dined at their Ashfield branch previously. I would say it is one of the top I have tasted. Shao long baos are my favourite because I love the fact that there is a spoonful of soup held within it, and New Shanghai couldn’t have done it any better.

_1420024I picked the prawn wonton with chilli oil, peanut and sesame sauce as it looked interesting. The peanut and sesame sauce was quite subtle, I was actually hoping for a thicker textured sauce. Nevertheless, it was an enjoyable dish.

_1420022We were gladly given half serving of the seafood pancake. The pancake was thin and crispy with just the right amount of filling and flavour. My partner, being a fan of seafood pancakes, gave this a thumbs up.

_1420026Lastly, to fill ourselves up, we opted for one of their signature dishes: The Rainbow beef (sweet and sour crispy beef). This dish brought back childhood memories of when my family went out to eat at Chinese restaurants. This dish would always be on the table, which kid doesn’t like sweet and sour beef or chicken? 
_1420028

New Shanghai is always one of the go-to places to satisfy my dumpling cravings. The service is friendly and attentive, and the prompt serving of food allows diners on a tight schedule to pop in and out in 30 minutes. I have yet to try their crispy duck baos that they have recently launched in their new menu. Time to schedule another visit back !

 

New Shanghai Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

