MoVida, Surry Hills

  

I am so happy for MoVida that its Sydney restaurant has recently been awarded two chefs hat within a year of opening!  Another exciting news for all you MoVida fans out there is that they have just announced the opening of MoVida @ the Airport!!

 This was for my birthday dinner, which was a treat from the very sweet K who offered to take me to any restaurant of my choice. I have previously tried MoVida in Melbourne and loved my experience there. I couldn’t believe it when K said she had never visited any branches of MoVida as she has visited Melbourne so many times! It was about time she shared one of my favourite Spanish restaurants!

We didn’t make a reservation this night as I thought MoVida didn’t take bookings. We arrived as early as possible (after some shopping) and we were told that the wait would be around half an hour. There were a few seats that acted as a waiting area where we ordered some red wine Sangria to start. After what seemed like only a fifteen-minute wait, we were taken to our seats at the bar.

  

We had a really friendly and helpful waitress who recommended us some of her favourite dishes. After a few moments, we finally decided on our food and were ready to eat.

I did my research before our visit and knew that tomato and anchovy is a signature combination at MoVida. The Anchoa consisted of Artisan Cantabrian Anchovy with Smoked Tomato Sorbet and as soon as I tasted it, I knew we were in for a good meal. The quinelle of tomato sorbet was easily spread to form a cold, tangy layer on top of the salty anchovy and delicately crisp wafer. The flavours and textures were perfect.

Next up was Croqueta de Jamon Iberico which reminded me of the classic flavours of ham and cheese encased in a crunchy batter.

We also ordered the Bocadillo (Grilled Chorizo and Padron Sandwich) which consisted of spicy chorizo that was pan-fried so the edges had a slight crisp. The peppers added a bit of a kick and all this was sandwiched between a soft and fluffy bun.

The next  dish we ordered was the Cecina which was Air Cured Wagyu Beef with Truffle Foam and Poached Egg. We were instructed to smash up all the components to have a taste of everything together. This dish had previously won Dish of the Year in Melbourne not too long ago and at first taste, it was obvious why. Texturally, it is all soft – the beef, the foam and the poached egg. However, the flavours went together very well with the flavour of the beef coming through first, balanced by the poached egg and the truffle foam.

I was going to say that the Carrillera de Buey (Beef cheek in Pedro Ximenez with Cauliflower Puree) was my favourite dish of the night but with second thoughts, I really can’t decide as I loved everything we had that night.  When the waitress was introducing her favourite dishes to us, she mentioned that the beef cheek is so tender that it could be eaten with a spoon and that was exactly how we did it. The meat was fall-apart tender with a drunken richness from the Pedro Ximenez sauce. I am salivating as I reminisce about this dish. Okay, I’m paying another visit to MoVida very soon, I have to.

And, it was time for dessert. We were already quite full by this stage but being girls, it’s a separate stomach for desserts!

After much deliberation, we decided to try the Tarta Santiago (Almond Fondant with Fennel Pollen Ice-Cream). The fondant had a subtle flavour of almond with a molten, gooey centre. We weren’t sure what to expect of the fennel pollen ice-cream which sounded like it belonged in a savoury dish. But I love surprises, and it was a surprise that worked very well as part of the dish.

What made our experience at MoVida even better was the complimentary dessert wine from our waitress. She was friendly, helpful, attentive, and even gave us complimentary wine! I forgot what the wine was specifically, but it was sweet and perhaps had hints of butterscotch, which matched wonderfully with our chosen dessert.

  

The food was delicious but it was K who made this a wonderful night! You have always been special to me but I think our mutual love for food has brought us even closer. Thank you for such a lovely dinner and I can’t wait  to share many more culinary experiences with you.

- C

MoVida Sydney on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

